65daysofstatic announce No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch
  • Español
  • Nederlands
  • Italiano
  • Polski
  • Русский

    Press Release



    April 8th, 2016 

    65daysofstatic announce No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe

    – Official soundtrack to release June 17th, 2016 –

    Pre-Order Exclusively Via Laced Records Here

    UK instrumental band 65daysofstatic today announce the official global release of their first video game soundtrack, No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe, via Laced Records on 17th June 2016. The release will coincide with the release of No Man’s Sky, the highly anticipated science fiction exploration game from Guildford-based studio Hello Games, available on PS4 and PC from June 21 in North America, June 22 in Europe and June 24 in the UK.

    After the track ‘Debutante’ accompanied the first reveal of No Man’s Sky in 2013, the band spent over a year composing original music for the game’s soundtrack. No Man’s Sky’s procedurally generated universe is unlike anything yet seen in the gaming world, and 65daysofstatic’s sonic assault is equally ambitious. The release itself comprises 10 tracks of original music, plus a second collection of soundscapes and sound design, an all-encompassing journey of almost two hours. This music, alongside a vast library of raw audio comprised of loops, sound textures and melody is currently being fed into the game’s unique music engine under the auspices of audio director Paul Weir, effectively creating a self-generating soundtrack to infinity. Attempting to move away from the granular, soft-focus ambiance often found in procedurally generated games, the in-game music aims to travel effortlessly between the minimal, barren melodies of outer space to the intense, visceral, aural squall of galactic survival. No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe is equally grand in its ambition, an experimental and overwhelming sonic experience that pushes 65dos into new territory while retaining their innate sense of relentlessness, driving rhythm, and a tune you can hum.

    You can listen to the track, ”Supermoon” from No Man’s Sky. Click here.

    Work on the game’s audio will continue right up to No Man’s Sky’s release, and 65daysofstatic are immensely privileged to have been given the opportunity to work at the cutting edge of sound design and composition. Given that their involvement in the project is now reaching the two-year mark, they are equally excited to get back out on the road and bring the energy and scope of infinite space to the live arena.

    65daysofstatic said, “Being involved with No Man’s Sky is as unlikely as it is exciting. Two years of our lives have disappeared into a black hole and we’ve been spat out into another dimension. The project has pushed us to explore new processes and techniques, to rethink our relationship with our own music and to essentially soundtrack every narrative thread of a ‘choose your own adventure’ novel that exists only in our minds. We’re really proud of the results, and can’t wait to release the album and play it live.”

    No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe will comprise of a ten track album including a second collection of six soundscapes, all essentially part of the same body of work. Recorded at Chapel Studios, Lincolnshire with co-producer Dave Sanderson (Reverend & The Makers), and mixed at Castle of Doom, Glasgow by Tony Doogan (Mogwai, Belle & Sebastian) in early 2015, the album will be released by Laced Records June 17th.

    No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe will be available for purchase and streaming at all major digital music retailers, as well as on deluxe double CD, 10 track double vinyl with digital download of all 16 tracks, and a deluxe vinyl collector’s edition featuring all 16 tracks spread across 4 LPs.

    The artwork is currently being produced by long time 65daysofstatic collaborator, Caspar Newbolt of Version Industries (Louis CK, Alessandro Cortini, Daft Punk, Big Black Delta) and will be revealed at a later date.

    Fans can now pre-order all editions of the soundtrack exclusively via the Laced Records store.

    No Man’s Sky is available to pre-order on PS4 and PC from Steam, GOG.com and Humble. Information of the game can be found on the official website.

    About 65daysofstatic
    65daysofstatic are a noisy instrumental band from Sheffield, UK. Formed in 2001, they have released six studio albums, the most recent being 2013’s ‘Wild Light’, garnering an international audience. Having toured relentlessly in the decade following the release of their critically acclaimed debut album ‘The Fall of Math’ (2004), they have in more recent years expanded their manifesto to include soundtracks and conceptual art installations.

    ‘Sleepwalk City’ (2013) commissioned by the Millennium Galleries Sheffield, mashed Google satellite imagery with infinite algorithmic drone fabrication via a sixteen speaker custom built audio chamber, culminating in a glorious marathon of nine live performances across two nights. ‘Fugue State for e-bow and guitar’ used custom-hacked midi-controlled magnets to remotely play prepared guitars in a visceral and overwhelming composition inspired by first hand accounts of the effects of British and US led drone warfare. Other works of note include music released as an online real-time re-mix engine (Prisms), infinite composition via a freeware coding platform (YrCodeIsBadAndYouShouldFeelBad), the short experimental film ‘Oscillator’, a reimagined soundtrack to the classic sci-fi film ‘Silent Running’, sound design for the BBC4 radio adaptation of Kurt Vonnegut’s ‘Slaughterhouse Five’ and a live-soundtrack at the Edinburgh festival for contemporary dance piece ‘Inside’.

    About Laced Records
    Established in 2015, Laced Records has made a quick and lasting impression on the industry, managing the licensing and commercial release of video game music, including bespoke PR and marketing for the artists and composers. In its first year, Laced’s roster has included soundtracks from NOCT (Robin Finck– Nine Inch Nails, Guns N Roses), Hard West (MarcinPrzybyłowicz– The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, The Vanishing of Ethan Carter), OlliOlli2 (BAFTA nominated game), Volume (David Housden– BAFTA nominated composer of Thomas Was Alone) and Curve Digital’s Pumped BMX.



    Press Contact
    For all media/interview requests, contact Cosmocover:
    Tel: +33 (0) 184 200 104